MODIFIED VACUOLE PHENOTYPE1 Is an Arabidopsis Myrosinase-Associated Protein Involved in Endomembrane Protein Trafficking

Publication Type:Journal Article
Year of Publication:2010
Authors:Agee, AE, Surpin, M, Sohn, EJu, Girke, T, Rosado, A, Kram, BW, Carter, C, Wentzell, AM, Kliebenstein, DJ, Jin, HChul, Park, OK, Jin, H, Hicks, GR, Raikhel, NV
Journal:Plant Physiology
Date Published:2010
ISBN Number:00320889

We identified an Arabidopsis (Arabidopsis thaliana) ethyl methanesulfonate mutant, modified vacuole phenotype1-1 (mvp1-1), in a fluorescent confocal microscopy screen for plants with mislocalization of a green fluorescent protein-δ tonoplast intrinsic protein fusion. The mvp1-1 mutant displayed static perinuclear aggregates of the reporter protein. mvp1 mutants also exhibited a number of vacuole-related phenotypes, as demonstrated by defects in growth, utilization of stored carbon, gravitropic response, salt sensitivity, and specific susceptibility to the fungal necrotroph Alternaria brassicicola. Similarly, crosses with other endomembrane marker fusions identified mislocalization to aggregate structures, indicating a general defect in protein trafficking. Map-based cloning showed that the mvp1-1 mutation altered a gene encoding a putative myrosinase-associated protein, and glutathione S-transferase pull-down assays demonstrated that MVP1 interacted specifically with the Arabidopsis myrosinase protein, THIOGLUCOSIDE GLUCOHYDROLASE2 (TGG2), but not TGG1. Moreover, the mvp1-1 mutant showed increased nitrile production during glucosinolate hydrolysis, suggesting that MVP1 may play a role in modulation of myrosinase activity. We propose that MVP1 is a myrosinase-associated protein that functions, in part, to correctly localize the myrosinase TGG2 and prevent inappropriate glucosinolate hydrolysis that could generate cytotoxic molecules.

Short Title:Plant Physiology
Fri, 2014-01-24 22:32 -- admin
Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith